How to Choose the Right AWS Certification

There is no denying that we live in what will one day be known as the humble beginnings of the digital era. All it takes to realise that practically every aspect of life as we know it is shifting decidedly towards widespread, even global, digitalisation, is to look around in any given direction. This is especially true in the workforce. The way that we work has changed dramatically in recent years, and it continues to change even (and especially) today. More and more often, we are seeing companies around the globe shift their workloads and storage systems to cloud computing systems. These cloud-based systems allow for less storage on the devices themselves, which effectively and successfully allows said devices to remain high-functioning and as quick as they were before they were used at all, for a significantly longer period.

Inevitably, this shift comes hand in hand with the need for a brand-new set of skills that function and thrive around design, deployment, and management of applications on cloud servers and the like. This is how, where, and why an AWS Developer Certification is quickly becoming one of the most coveted and instrumental certifications of the digital era to date.

It is important to note that cloud computing is all about embracing and embodying convenience and efficiency to the highest order, and to this end it is roaringly successful from the inside out. And then there is the ease and efficiency of cloud computing. All in all, this is the future of the workforce, and it is a future that has now arrived on the doorsteps of companies around the globe and across the board. Looking at the rise of Amazon Web Services (AWS), for instance, is all about working cohesively in alignment with this new better way of doing business from the inside out.

Today, there are twelve AWS certifications available (and more are on the way), each of them having their own advantages and overall value. So, how does one approach choosing the right AWS Certification for them?

AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner

This qualification is the latest and greatest to join the rest. An entry-level certification to the core, the AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner is all about validating an individual’s inherent understanding and overall grasp of the AWS cloud framework. This certification essentially covers the material and necessities to understand the basic architectural principles of AWS, the important value of the AWS cloud, basic security and compliance, key AWS services – and their uses, and the central deployment and operating principles that AWS functions and thrives around. This is a foundational AWS certification, and is ideal and necessary for an individual who is just beginning their journey in AWS development and understanding.

AWS Certified Solutions Architect

This AWS Certification is offered in two tiers – associate and professional. Essentially, these are examinations that focus directly on sharpening the experience in designing distributed applications (associate) or the work towards achieving a high degree of technical experience and skill surrounding the design of AWS-based applications and concepts. This certification (in both regards) is ideal for individuals who are looking to sharpen their skills and learn some fresh concepts and ideals that will ultimately assist in the ability to “design, manage, and implement applications using AWS platform tools and services”.

AWS Certified Developer

The AWS Certified Developer certification is ideal for individuals who want to learn about and engage with the development and maintenance of AWS-based applications. For this specific certification, it is necessary that individuals know how to write actual code that utilises AWS software and the like. This certification will essentially cover material surrounding the basic understanding of AWS architecture as well as core AWS services, while also focusing on hands-on experience in all aspects of AWS certification, including design, development, and maintenance.

AWS Certified SysOps Administrator

This AWS Certification is offered as the sole certification that is geared specifically and entirely toward system administrators. This is an examination that demands both conceptual knowledge and understanding and technical expertise and prowess, to be understood. This AWS certification is perfect for individuals who are looking to understand deployment applications in AWS, the sending and receiving of data between data centres, and “selecting, provisioning, managing, and securing systems in AWS”.

AWS Certified Data Analytics – Specialty

The AWS Certified Data Analytics – Speciality certification is designed and intended specifically for individuals who have a background in data analytics, as well as experience in using AWS services for the purpose of big data solutions across the board. This certification was created and introduced with the goal of validating an experienced and practiced individual’s knowledge and experience in data using AWS services. From architecting the best practices for implementing core AWS big data services, to the appropriate covering of AWS services like Athena, Kinesis, Rekognition, and Quicksight, this is a certification that dives into some of the best and most exciting aspects of AWS.

AWS Certified Machine Learning – Specialty

This AWS certification is decidedly one of the freshest and most exciting AWS certifications there is. This certification is created, designed, and intended to validate an individual’s capability in creating, implementing, maintaining, and even improving machine learning principles and solutions across the board for businesses around the globe today. This is the perfect AWS certification for anyone who has experience in development or data science, however it is important to note that at least one to two years experience with machine learning (or deep learning, for that matter) surrounding the AWS cloud is recommended prior to taking on this AWS certification.

At the end of the day, the AWS Certification that you ultimately work towards successfully earning depends entirely on your experience and your goals in the field. There are, of course, more AWS Certifications available, each with their own overall potential and value. So, if you are looking to invest in an AWS Certification (whether it be an AWS Developer Certification or an AWS Certified Alexa Skill Builder – Speciality, to name a few examples among the many), it pays to do your homework and take your time before deciding which AWS Certification is going to best meet your expectations and necessities going forward. This is an ever-evolving field, and there will be more AWS Certifications added into the mix as time goes on.

%d bloggers like this: